kelly-on-mountain

From the beginning I believed we needed to build a coalition in the organ transplant community.  I’ve been a “connector” my entire life, so this plan of attack came naturally.  When you put a bunch of passionate and intelligent people in the same room great things happen.

Those of us in this world have a bond that is near impossible to explain.  Keep in mind that I never had an organ transplant.  My brother needed a heart transplant and didn’t receive one in time and that’s why this blog and my journey to Brown exists.

So I reached out to a few folks and as expected, I heard back quickly.  Kelly Perkins was one of them.  Get this — Kelly had a heart transplant and afterwards climbed several mountains; including the Matterhorn in Switzerland, Kilimanjaro in Africa, and the Grand Traverse in Wyoming!  That’s a massive accomplishment for anyone…let alone someone with a heart transplant.  As I write this I’m shaking my head…truly amazing.

I worked in Jackson Hole for two summers in college.  In fact, I worked there with my brother in 1999.  The Grand Traverse is a MASSIVE undertaking.  10 summits!  I’ve dreamed about doing this since I was an 18-year-old kid.

teton-elevation-profile-infographic

Kelly was kind enough to reply to my request to personally meet her (which I plan on doing shortly).  It’s time to bring all the players together, all the ideas together, and change the world.

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.”  Margaret Mead

Sincerely, The Graduate (at Brown)

