PrecisionUltimate16_800

Yup…another post that has nothing to do with Brown or healthcare, but interesting nonetheless (at least to myself).  I got a new squash racquet this week and I’m in love.  I’ve had my eye on a Dunlop Precision Ultimate since 2016 and I’m thrilled to say I played my first game with one this Wednesday.  But first, no one starts off with a racquet like this – you sort of graduate into it.  The history of my racquets is below.

IMG_1611

I picked up squash several years ago and instantly became addicted.  Three dimensional chess with a ball moving in excess of 150 mph in a confined space is exhilarating!  I had played tennis my entire life, as had my father, but it’s really hard to go back once you get used to squash.

My first racquet was a heavy aluminum starter Dunlop that served its purpose, but broke after a year and a half (just the strings).  At 195 grams it was a bit to lug around.  I didn’t know any better until a friend loaned me a graphite racquet; which, coincidentally, was the same time as mine broke, so it was a no-brainer to move into a lighter racquet.

I bought a 2014 Prince Airstick and at 140 grams on a graphite frame I couldn’t believe it!  There was a noticeable difference from the get go.  By this time I had became a better player and was ready for a lighter racquet.  I played with my Airstick for a few years with no issues.  At $75 I got my money’s worth out it and then some.

Earlier this year I felt it was time to upgrade to a higher end racquet.  And, like I said earlier, I had my eye on a Dunlop Precision Ultimate.  After playing twice a week for four years I was ready for something more suited to my game – and boy did this racquet deliver!

I won’t get into the racquets details, but let’s just say it fits my game and I’m as happy as ever.  My Wednesday partner, who is a better athlete than I am, fell victim this week to my new found precision and ball control on the court – and I owe it all to this racquet.

About Brown – it’s still 100% on my radar and will happen when the time is right.

Sincerely, The Graduate (at Brown)